Indiana treats operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol as a serious crime. Even for a first offense, you could receive up to a year in jail for a conviction along with other penalties.

Before facing a court date for an Indiana OWI charge, review the possible criminal consequences in your case.

First-time OWI

An OWI arrest results if you have measured blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. Penalties for a conviction include:

  • Minimum of 30-day and up to two-year driver’s license suspension
  • Fine of up to $5,000 plus court and vehicle towing costs
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Probation with periodic drug and alcohol testing
  • Substance abuse education at your own expenses
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel

Second-time OWI

If you get a second OWI conviction, you could receive:

  • Minimum of 180-day and up to three-year license suspension
  • Fine of up to $10,000 plus court and vehicle towing costs
  • At least five days and up to three years in jail
  • Community service
  • Probation with periodic drug and alcohol testing
  • Substance abuse education at your own expenses
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel

Third-time OWI

A third OWI will result in these penalties:

  • Minimum of 10-day and up to 10-year license suspension as a habitual traffic offender
  • Fine of up to $10,000 plus court and vehicle towing costs
  • At least 10 days and up to 10 years in jail if adjudged as a habitual traffic offender
  • Community service
  • Probation with periodic drug and alcohol testing
  • Substance abuse education at your own expenses
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel

Underage drivers are subject to a zero-tolerance law in Indiana. Before age 21, the BAC threshold for an OWI is 0.02%. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you or your attorney could ask the court for a downgrade to a wet reckless charge. This constitutes a reckless driving conviction with an additional $200 fine.